Day Four- The Top of the Hill

12 Jun

Yesterday was my fourth day on my juice fast. It wasn’t the best day, but it wasn’t the worst. After cheating really badly and having a breakdown on Day 3, I woke up on Day 4 not sure if I was going to continue my fast or just give up. I got out of bed, got a glass of ice water and sat on the sofa for a few minutes pondering the day. Before I even realized what I was doing, I headed back to the kitchen and start to assemble my juicer.

What my husband had said to me the night before about me feeling a sense of accomplishment if I make it to my fifteenth day really stuck in my head. I decided that I didn’t want to give up. I really want to buckle down and give this challenge my all.

I did pretty good most of the day but, of course, when it got to dinnertime my willpower was once again tested. It was a really hot day so I just made sub-sandwiches for my husband and daughter for dinner, but the issue was that I made tater tots on the side. I LOVE POTATOES! I love carbs in general. They are my downfall on any diet, but especially a fast where I am at my weakest and hungriest.

So needless to say, I cheated again. First I tested one to see if it was cooked, then I tried another after they came out from under the broiler. Then another. And another. And another. Once I started I just couldn’t stop!

I think I ate about eight or nine, maybe even a little more. I was popping them into my mouth every time I walked by the stove until my husband came home and I knew he would say something to me if I ate one in front of him. I did sneak one when he went in the backyard to water the grass though.

I felt really guilty about it and not at all satisfied. It tasted delicious, but I felt bloated and gassy and gross. I really regretted eating them after I did and I even thought about inducing vomiting so I wouldn’t digest them any more, but then I realized that was crazy and I just had to deal with the consequences of my actions.

The only other issues that I had yesterday was, first, my sense of smell is crazy strong! I could smell my husbands’ sandwich from across the room! He couldn’t even smell it and it was in front of his face. And second, I was really tired and achy all day. My right leg really hurt from my hip down to my knee. At first it was just an annoying sore feeling, but by the end of the day I was nearly in tears and wishing more than anything that I could pop a couple of ibuprofen and call it a day. Instead I went to bed with an ice pack on my leg and then switched off with a heating pad most of the night.

My juices of the day yesterday were one of my own creation- Apple Orange Strawberry (delicious!)- Green Lemonde (not completely terrible), and Sunset Blend Juice (Ok, but not great).

Apple Orange Strawberry Juice

  • 2 apples
  • 2 oranges
  • 4 large strawberries
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 medium carrot

 

5 Responses to “Day Four- The Top of the Hill”

  1. Lisa July 3, 2012 at 5:54 am #

    Day 4 is still early. I started yesterday and am embarressed to say I cheated on Day 1! I think you’re doing fine. Just think of the Tortoise and the Hare story. This isn’t a sprint to the finish line. We are trying to learn a better way of eating. This takes time. Don’t give up

  2. SMc. September 17, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    Soooo… You gave up?
    The first 3 or 4 days are the hardest.. After that, you don’t even feel hungry anymore. If you did give up, I think you should start again. Stop obsessing over the fact that you aren’t eating. Yes, obsessing. Go back and re read your posts. You sounded so positive at first, and then the obsession kicked in.. You have to overcome all of that or it will not work.
    I really hope you try the juice fast again.. And I wish you the best of luck if you do.
    .SMc

  3. Kindle May 28, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Awww…did you quit? Interesting read thanks for sharing

  4. Sharita February 26, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    I’m really interested in the rest of your journey. If you completed the 15 days, how did you manage throughout the rest of your journey? I’m on day 1 and feel like quitting! A lot of the drinks are unbearable. I love your blog because I understand exactly how hard it is to have self control when it comes to food!

    • hollylow February 26, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

      It was actually a couple of years ago so I don’t remember if I quit or if life just got in the way of blogging about my journey. I actually did end up doing 30 days at one point and lost a ton of weight and everyone said my skin was glowing! But of course I gained it back! I struggled with my weight until early 2013 when I tried the Paleo diet on a whim and ended up LOVING it! It is truly amazing! I’ve been off all meds for anxiety and depression since I switched to Paleo and although I haven’t lost a ton of weight (scale-wise) I’m much more toned and fitting back into some of my smaller clothes again. Most importantly though, my attitude toward food has changed radically! I used to be a carb junkie and now I rarely think about my old favorite foods, and when I do eat them they just don’t taste the same and give me horrible stomach aches (there’s nothing like refraining from a food for months and then eating it again to make you realize how terrible it is for you!). I switched my husband and daughter to Paleo too and my daughters eczema has cleared up and she is so calm! I can tell when she’s had sugar because she’s a completely different child. My husband is in training to be a nuclear technician in the Navy and when he’s Paleo he gets higher test scores and handles stress way better! It’s amazing what good nutrition can do! I’m thinking of starting another blog on that topic but I’m still on the fence.

Leave a comment